Municipal Council

Municipal Council 2023:  Councilman, 4th District- Lauren Hughes, Councilwoman At-Large Rebecca Smith, Council President, at-large- Thomas Lepera, Councilwoman At-Large Tiffani Hendley, and Councilman, 3rd District- Dustin Queenan. (Not pictured:  Council Vice President, 2nd District- Heather Lewis and Councilman, 1st District- Rashaad Bates)

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes


Council Meeting 1st Tuesday of every month at 6:30 P.M.

Council Workshop 3rd Tuesday of every month at 6:30 P.M.

LOCATION CHANGE: Due to the renovation of Municipal Hall, council meetings will be held at the Montgomery County Intermediate Unit starting June 15, 2021.)

2023 Council Meetings


Norristown is governed by a Municipal Council which consists of seven officials elected by the residents of the Municipality.

Reorganization Meetings

On the first Monday of January in each year, the Municipal Council conducts a reorganization meeting where they elect a President and Vice President of Council.

Council Members

Four of the council members are elected by and represent specific districts within the Municipality (view Municipality Map). There are also three at-large council members who the Council directs the activities of the Municipality through the appointed Municipal Administrator, who in turn supervises all departments.

All council positions are part-time, with each council member serving four-year terms. No council member may be elected for more than two consecutive four-year terms and the balance of one unexpired term of a vacant Council seat. Thereafter, an outgoing council member may not be elected or appointed to serve as council member for at least two years.

2023 Council Map - Feb